of Scotland, Loch Ness
hills rich in plants and wildlife are a backdrop to the Moray
Firth and the sand-and-shingle beaches of the coast. Inverness,
'capital' of the Highlands, stands at the entrance of the man-made
Caledonian Canal, which connects Scotland's east and west coasts.
On its way, the canal passes through Loch Ness, home of the famous
but officially unverified monster.
clustered around small harbour have their gable ends facing the
sea so fishing boats can be drawn up between them during rough
weather. Easy walk along farm lanes south of village on north
side of Munlochy Bay provides views of bay and surrounding mountains.
street of town dominated by 1905 Boer War memorial and remains
of 13th-century Beauly Priory, which contains 16th-century monument
to Sir Kenneth Mackenzie. Nearby mud flats home to waders and
wildfowl. Walk through Reelig Glen, 3 miles east of Beauly.
Castle has turreted 14th-century tower with 17th-century additions
and still serves as home to Earls of Cawdor. Drawing room has
17th-century fireplace and portrait of Emma Hamilton, Nelson's
mistress. Tapestry Bedroom has Venetian bed and 17th-century tapestries
portraying Bib-lical scenes. Three differently styled gardens,
nature trails. Castle is scene of King Duncan's murder in Shakespeare's
Macbeth. Licensed self-service restaurant.
lock built here for Caledonian Canal because North Sea runs out
long way at low tide; one of great engineering achievements of
the canal-building age. Canal opened in 1822.
dating from late Stone Age surrounded by standing stone circles
and hidden by trees. Origi-nally contained domed burial chambers
with passage entrances.
commemorates John Cobb. British racing and motorboat driver who
lost his life in 1952 attempting to better world water speed record
on Loch Ness. His jet-propelled craft, travelling over 200 mph,
villages joined by bridge at head of Cromarty Birth, built by
Thomas Telford in 1809. Walks upstream along river bank.
of vitrified Iron Age fort --said to have been stronghold of Pictish
King Buds -- stand atop 556ft hill. Wide views of Moray and Beauly
firths, and mountains to west. Varied walks through open woodland.
ridge rises from woods of pine and birch, and carpets of heather.
Old pine trees, well spaced out, as well as denser, younger woods.
Views of Inshriach Forest plantations and Spey Valley from summit.
of last battle fought on Scottish soil -- Bonnie Prince Charlie
defeated by Duke of Cumberland in 1746. Battlefield restored to
1746 appearance. Visitor centre has audiovisual display of battle.
Farmhouse has museum contain-ing historical maps and relics.
oldest building, a former schoolhouse, dates from 1650. Town House,
mostly 18th century with older tower, has a museum. Good bird
watching possible from harbour's foreshore.
to falls from Lewiston passes old slatted wooden deer leaps. Cataract
cascades 100ft down rocky valley of birch and oak.
gardens stand in 15 acres by Loch Dochfour. Daffodils, trees and
rhododendrons; water garden and yew topiary. Kitchen garden with
soft fruit in season.
stone village dominated by Loch Ness Monster trade. Exhibition
centre tells of monster sightings and reveals ingenuity of searchers.
Visitor centre features film on monster history and myth. Sonar
stone stable houses Forestry Commission Interpretive Centre, demonstrating
wildlife conservation practices. Walks, picnic areas, car parks.
hamlet stands by bridge over River Feshie rapids. These rapids
turn quickly to birch surrounded poois as water makes its way
through Glen Feshie.
of finest artillery fortifications in Europe, completed 1769.
Regimental museum of Queen's Own Highlanders has military items
covering period from 1778 to present day.
probably destroyed by Cromwell, retains some vaulting. Hill of
Fortrose provides views
over town and Chanonry Point.
Falls on eastern shore of Loch Ness. Best places to view falls
are from vantage points along path through trees.
Zoological Society of Scot-land park; wildlife includes European
bison, mouflon red deer and birds.
'capital' on River Ness. Castle Wynd Museum has bagpipes, various
Jacobite relics. Abertarff House in Church Street built in 1693.
St Andrew's Cathedral built l866.
white-painted church dating from 18th century has 8th-century
bronze hand bell inside.
of 15th-century castle contain tree garden with some varieties
unique to Britain. Nature trails, guided castle tours.
of 14th-century Castle of Moy and obelisk honouring 19th-century
Mackintosh chief stand on one of loch's islands.
reached by path at foot of Beinn a' Bhacaidh. Stepping stones
leading from this loch descend deep gorge to boathouse 600ft below
on Loch Ness.
Scotland's most famous stretch of water, renowned for perennial
tourist attraction, the Loch Ness Monster. Loch is 24 miles long,
about a mile across, and up to 754ft deep. Road from Urquhart
Castle to Invermoriston runs alongside wooded slopes of loch;
plenty of viewpoints.
granted royal charter in 12th century. Laing Hall in King Street
houses the Fishertown Museum, which has exhibits on domestic life
of town, model boats and collection of photographs and articles
on fishing industry. Ornamental gardens just off High Street,
and walks along River Nairn. Sandy beaches popular in summer,
provide nickname, the 'Brighton of the North'.
600yds long and 130ft above ground at maximum height, built in
1898 for Highland Railway's route between Aviemore and Inverness
through Nairn Valley. Each of the 28 arches has span of 50ft.
Arch over river has span of 100ft.
Age fort tops Ord Hill, over-shadowing village of small houses
along mud-and-shingle shore. Kessock Bridge replaced ferry route
across Beauly Firth. Sea trout angling, bird life along fore-shore
of firth. Walks through forest along slopes of Ord Hill allow
views of firth.
from car park at edge of loch follows 2 mile circular route along
deer paths and through open country, providing views of area's
many tiny lochs. Bird life includes chaffinches, goldcrests, crossbills
after Norse for 'splashing, foaming river'. Leaping salmon can
sometimes be seen from sus-pension bridge.
cliffs dotted with caves face the sea and overlook red-sandstone
cottages. Groam House is small museum containing Pictish stone.
Footpath starting on road to Cromarty, just north of village,
leads along Fairy Glen to two waterfalls. Ledges allow visitors
once Victorian health resort with sulphur springs, now famous
for doll museum housed in remains of baths complex. Dolls, teddy
bears, games and toys spanning 150 years on display, as well as
other features of Victorian nursery such as baby clothes, lace
out on strategic point into Loch Ness, part of this large of ten-rebuilt
castle ruin dates from Norman times. Blown up in 1692 to prevent
bridge, no longer used, built over River Fechlln by General Wade
in 1732 to move forces against rebellious Jacobites.