of Scotland, Strathmore
Strathmore's fertile vale with
its cattle farms and steep braes divides the Grampian Mountains
and Sidlaw Hills from the Firth of Tay and the area's splendid
beaches. Wildlife abounds, from wooded watersides to marshy stretches
such as Montrose Basin. The remains of rugged castles proliferate,
along with intriguing gardens such as Edzell and fine houses like
the House of Dun.
Three carved Pictish
stones line roadside of this hamlet. One more in churchyard; carved
with Celtic cross and animal decorations. Battle scene on reverse.
Smell of 'smokies' everywhere
in this fishing town -- haddock smoked over hardwood chip fire.
Roofless red-sandstone walls of abbey founded 1178 by King William
the Lion, who is buried in front of high altar. Museum in 19th-century
tower which used to signal to Bell Rock lighthouse.
A well-preserved underground
earth house with chambers and passages; houses for 1st and 2nd-century
Picts. Another earth house stands 1 mile north.
Village on red-sandstone
cliffs with restored cottages and tiny harbour; one of the oldest
fishing settlements on Angus coast. Model for 'Musselcrag' in
Walter Scott's novel The
Low-lying point with
fortress-like limekiln on tip. Look for agates among rocks at
low tide. Coastal path leads to Elephant Rock: red-sandstone stack
in which sea has carved 'legs' and 'trunk'. Fine view across bay.
Town rising steeply from
River South Esk. Red-sandstone cathedral dates from 13th century,
now a parish church. Pictish relics, 16th-century font amid 17th-century
silver inside. Next to it, 87ft high watchtower dates from 11th
Spanning River South
Esk, squat obelisks guard approaches to this three-arched bridge
decorated with Gothic motifs. Built by Alexander Stevens in 1787.
Perched on a rocky spur
above Broughty Ferry harbour, this 15th-century castle was restored
in 1860. Now it houses a museum with exhibits of seashore wildlife,
lay's natural history and Dundee's former whaling industry.
Built around cottages
of old fishing village. this Dundee suburb doubles as a holiday
Former home of Reverend
Patrick Bell, inventor of the reaping machine in 1828. Workshop
remains. Church founded 1500.
Brown and White
Two Iron Age forts: Brown
stands alone with six lines of defence, the outermost enclosing
an area of 1,000 by 900ft; White, a mile south-west, is a hilltop
oval surrounded by two stone walls.
Well-preserved late 1500s
fortress with towers capped by square gar-rets, Ground floor dominated
by kitchen with vast fireplace and gunport. Sole entrance by small
doorway on west front.
East of Arbroath town,
broad esplanade has acres of grass. From northern end, 3 mile
nature trail leads along cliff tops, passing stack known as Deil's
Held; one of many oddly shaped rocks. Cave in Carlingheugh Bay
leads through to neighbouring bay. Check tide times before venturing
Conifer and broadleaf
woodland extending for 250 acres, where a Victorian reservoir
looks decep-tively like a natural loch. Wildlife hides, trails
and Ranger Centre with environmental displays.
Fragrance fills the air
in 8 acres of gardens where history of herbs is explained with
Celtic, Roman and monastic displays. Arboretum and tearoom.
Red-stone ruins of 16th-century
castle dominated by square tower.
Castle home of Prime
Minister W.E. Gladstone 1830-51. Built 1809, the house looks much
as it did in Gladstone's time; still lived in by his descendants.
learn how to make malt
whisky on a tour of Scotland's second eldest licensed distillery.
Arch marks Queen Victoria's 1861 town visit. Shaft of 1670 Kincardine
Tower Cross in main square.
Small town where Malcolm
III had a castle -- destroyed by Robert Bruce: site is marked
by 17th-century octagonal turret. Town Hall and museum has 'Forfar
bridle': medieval iron cellar used to gag those about to be executed.
Built in I5th century
on site of earlier fortress. Square tower of 1468 and 19th --century
additions. Can be viewed from outside only.
Remains of ramparted
Iron Age fort crown hill with all-round views of the countryside.
Evidence of metal working and pot making.
Handsome house designed
by William Adam in early 18th century. Saloon plaster-work depicts
armorial bearings. Naval and military trophies and mythological
scenes. Potting shed contains early 20th-century tools and life-size
figure of a gardener at work. Wooded walks through the surrounding
port. full of holiday homes, with two--basin harbour. Four mile
coastal path runs north to the town of Inverbervie.
Fine domestic architecture
of the 16th and 17th centuries; oldest part dates from 1613.
Good shore to search
for semiprecious stones, such as agate and amethyst.
Ruined cottages stand
side by side with modern holiday chalets. Beach of pebbles and
rocks. Good walking in woods where there are two streams; one
tumbles down 40ft waterfall of Den Finella.
Village noted for battlemented
15th-century Affleck Castle, with fine upper hall and vaulted
chapel. Waterside walks and boating in country park surrounding
reservoir. Beyond Monikie, road runs back towards coast, giving
wide views over the sea.
Town with water on three
sides. Popular sailing centre wiith fine beach. Pink-footed geese
over-winter on shores. Church steeple soars 220ft above elegant,
gable-ended High Street houses, where the narrow, twisting closes
have remained unchanged for 200 years. Curfew bell of 'Big Peter'
rings from steeple nightly.
Short, steep path from
Lunan Bay to remains of cliff-top castle, probably dating from
the 15th century when it replaced earlier fort built for King
William the Lion.
One of the most unspoiled
spots tin Scotland's east coast; 26511 sandstone headland is reached
by a bumpy 1 1/2 mile drive on an unpaved road. Superb view along
coast. Path below cliff edge leads to rocky shore.
Romantic stone ruin surrounded
by sloping meadows. Incorporated into remains of Augustinian Priory
church is porch, possibly dating from 11th century; later heightened
to form square tower. Capped by spire in 15th century.
Sweep of sand backed
by dunes, with cliffs of volcanic rock. Rich in wild flowers,
butterflies and moths. Colony of little terns on sand and shingle
at the south end. Stonechats, whitethroats and yellowhammers frequent
gorse and scrub. Common porpoises sometimes appear offshore and
grey seals are seen regularly.
Unexpected gem in dip
below modern housing. Small 12th-century church, renovated 19th
century, on steep mound dotted with gravestones. Below stands
semicircle of red-stone cottages with stone--slabbed roofs.
village on River South Esk in Vale of Strathmore . Ruined 15th
century stronghold of Finavon Castle, 2 miles south-east.